Introducing Sunny Buick

Sunny Buick has been both a tattoo artist and a contemporary artist.  Her paintings and prints are influenced by her interest in and experience with tattoos.  In her own words….

“I’m an artist. I like to sew. I like vintage stuff.

I was born in British Columbia, Canada in a small cabin in the woods. I was then raised in California by a single hippy mother, who always encouraged my creative spirit. Finally arriving in San Francisco at age fifteen after years and years of constant displacement, I finally felt at home. The next year I decided to become a tattoo artist after meeting some influential misfits. Many years later after finishing college I gained a tattoo apprenticeship with Henry Goldfield and it was in North Beach, not too far from where Lenny Bruce fell out of his hotel window that my career was started. My work is heavily influenced by tattoo imagery which has become a symbolic language in my paintings.”

Check out her art here.

mother

ice-cream

mustachio

Leave a Reply

